Obsession of the Week

The Perfect Summer Heels

Julie, your Wardrobe Essentials post on Friday sent me searching for a great shoe to compliment the chic summer outfits you constructed. 

My obsession started with Ralph Lauren’s elegant raffia heel and ankle strap.

Next, I fell in love with Michael Kors’ casual, chunky espadrille.

Or maybe Nine West’s more substantial wooden platform?

Tory Burch combines the best of both worlds with an espadrille platform and a wooden heel, together with a classic navy, leather upper.

For all my preppy friends, Burberry makes a traditional espadrille in their signature plaid.

Finally, the sculptural beauty of these Yves Saint Laurent couture wedges induces gasps of awe.

Although I can easily picture myself showing them off, sitting cross-legged, outside at a Paris café, sipping espresso, the reality is that I spend most of my time jumping in and out of the car, dropping children off at school and lacrosse practice.  It just doesn’t seem fair, to the shoes, to let them languish inside my Suburban.

I don’t think I could go wrong with any of these styles, since they share common traits:  sky-high heels and ankle straps, both of which serve to elongate tanned and toned legs tottering poolside or on the boardwalk this summer.

Lauren by Ralph Lauren Fantara Platform Sandal ($109) 

Michael Kors Juniper Espadrille ($140)

Nine West Golden ($109)

Tory Burch Bradshaw Sandal ($350)

Burberry Checked Print and Patent Leather Espadrille ($295)

Yves Saint Laurent Sculpted Wedge T-Strap in Black and Gold ($1,125)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

