Colored Jeans

Julie’s post last week on color blocking reminded me of a great photo from In Style’s April issue about colored jeans.

Of course, I’m attracted to the top of the color wheel, a firehouse red or hot pink. 

Then, last week, Cathy Horyn wrote about J Brand’s colored jeans in her New York Times column.  Their skinny jeans, in vibrant shades of yellow, pink, purple, turquoise and red, have been flying off the shelves across the country.  I was attracted to the bright hues, but I was really intrigued by the fabric.  The jeans are not denim, rather they’re made of Japanese stretch twill. I wasn’t sure what the Japanese would do to a twill to make it that exciting, so I ordered a pair in fuchsia.

 

They are fabulous.  The mid-rise hits comfortably at the hip, and the length is perfect, coming right to my ankles.  The stretch twill is as soft as an old pair of khakis, but the slender cut makes them so sexy.  There is nothing dowdy about these jeans. 

It’s all I can do to keep myself from buying another pair in purple (and red, and green…)

Images: top – InStyle, bottom two are from J Brand.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

