Spring Trends-What Worked

Julie:

Summer officially started yesterday, Ann!  I know what you’re thinking – how did Spring come and go so quickly? I’m sure the fashion designers are thinking the same thing as they see their creations that are still hanging on the racks as women are looking forward to Fall 2011.

The projections for Spring fashion included color blocking, florals, a 1960’s lady look, a 1970’s bohemian look, biker jackets, high-waisted flared pants, whites, neutrals and more chunky platform heels.  So what stuck?

In DC, ladylike sheath dresses flew out of my shop.  Every woman who walked through the door had the platform wedge heel on (many noted they were Stuart Weitzman) or said they had a pair at home.

The Alex, by Stuart Weitzman $365

Print floral tops were popular to go with white jeans and everyone loved any shade of orange.

 The Lisa Top by Tory Burch $194.60

What didn’t work?  The high-waisted pant with flared legs – where extreme – did not appeal to women in my demographic. And no one really seems to want the biker embellished jackets (I think that was a hang over from military last Fall — there must have been a lot of epaulets left in the cutting room!).  Maxi dresses didn’t take hold for Spring but they are strong for summer. I’ve found that regardless of how hot the trend, if the design doesn’t accent a woman’s best features, then it will never be of interest.

Which part of Spring fashion sprung for you in your neck of the woods?

Ann: Julie,

Ahh, summertime.  I’ve seen plenty of wedges around the pool this summer, especially wedge espadrilles.  The Jack Rogers version is particularly popular here.

Marbella Espadrille by Jack Rogers $178

Maxi skirts and dresses have been spotted around town, but mainly on the younger set.  I think it will continue to infiltrate the masses, but when I wore my maxi skirt out to dinner the other night, my friend Danny asked me if I was going to the prom.

At market last fall, I remember seeing lots of leather embellishments on spring/summer dresses and skirts, but that trend didn’t make an appearance in my Midwestern town.  Too hot to think of wearing even a little bit of leather.

Finally, nothing says summertime here like a pair of white jeans or a white skirt.  I love the look of crisp white, paired with something colorful.  Although my white jeans are a staple, in the heat of summer, I prefer a skirt.

Janelle Skirt by Kate Spade $245

Perfect for sitting on the screened-in porch, sipping a gin and tonic.

Images: Stuart Weitzman, Tory Burch, Zappos, Kate Spade

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

