The Whites of Summer

By Julie

 Since I have the conch shell today for our post, I want to begin by thanking you, Ann, for the incredibly kind post last week about The Best of Washington in the Washingtonian magazine. Being on the Best list was a huge surprise — one for which I am really grateful. BUT, I am even more grateful for all my family, friends and dear new clients who have supported me and encouraged me in my first year of business. You all know who you are as you have my clothes now filling your closets. Thank you to all of you for launching this dream of mine with me.

 On to Summer Whites.

A head-to-toe style embrace of white is just about the coolest thing you can come up with in the heat of summer. Except in New York. I heard that “the chic” tried the summer look for about a day and then reverted back to all black — because they could.

White is crisp, clean, and light. It is a statement of simplicity that you can make during any season — but most powerfully in summer where your landscapes are blue oceans and skies, bright green manicured lawns or seas of jewel-toned wild flowers.

 I like the all white look for a relaxed summer day in simple sundresses and tunics and cropped pants.  For a more tailored look, I like fitted tops with fuller pants, a polished day dress or a fun out-on-the-town cocktail dress. You can add your turquoises and corals if you wish or keep it simple with silvers and gold for jewelry and shoes. 

 Adding brown leather to a column of white is also a great look. Kate Moss nailed it here:

For Spring and Summer, I chose the following fabulous designs for my boutique:

For Day to wear with the cropped Jenny Kicker jeans from Joe’s Jeans:

Milly Emily Blouse in Oyster.  $295 now 30% reduced

Dallin Chase Cezanne Full Sleeve Tunic. $120 now 30% reduced

For professional life or a chic city look:

 

Alice + Olivia Kim Structured Blazer and Eric Pant in Stone. $368 and $264 now 30% reduced

Dresses for Day:

Rachel Roy White Pique Dress. $445 now 30% reduced

Rachel Roy White Pique Dress. $445 now 30% reduced

Milly Bahia Jacquard Cotton Dress.  $295 now 30% reduced

And for an evening on the town:

Halston Open Sleeve Dress in Shell.  $325 now 30% reduced.

Unless your entire ensemble is a light and airy linen or silk, I’d avoid the same cotton blend material head to toe unless you are heading to the ER for your night job:

And, after your fabulous post on RayBans, Ann, featuring a few great shots of Tom Cruise sporting his famous shades, it made me wonder what Tom’s interpretation on the all-white look might be.  And then I remembered…

Images:  2.bp, Runway Hippie, FashionStyleAdvice.com, Julia Farr, Alice+Olivia, Palm Beach Post, Risky Business

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

