Time to give summer the boot!

Ann,

We’re getting close to the first day of fall.  And you know what fall means in the fashion world: BOOTS! Riding boots, platform boots, high-heeled boots, cowboy boots, short booties, tall boots, even over-the-knee boots for the very fashion forward. Suede, leather, black, chocolate brown, dark grey and camel are among the many materials and colors. This year you can even find a blue-green python from Prada!

I have a personal favorite boot maker that I found a few years ago on one of my excellent autumnal excursions to New York. While strolling around Spring Street on a sunny afternoon, I happened upon an Italian shoe store, VARDA, with stunning boots in the window. Never being one to pass up a good shoe opportunity, I went in and was immediately swept away by pair after pair of beautiful boots in polished leather and suede. Simply gorgeous! It was close to my birthday (as if I needed an excuse), so I decided to treat myself to a pair of classic riding-boots. I wore those boots almost every day that winter and for several winters to come. I even went back the next fall and found another pair in black – higher heeled – and they became a staple, as well.

When I opened my boutique, it soon became apparent to me that under the category of “Elegant and Essential” must be VARDA boots.  The next time I was at market, I found the VARDA booth and met Alicia Ficalora, the VARDA representative. We had a wonderful conversation that led to a showroom visit where my sister and chief of marketing, Mary Joyce, and my niece and very first JF employee, Amelie, tried on every style of boot VARDA made. They even met with Manny Varda, the owner and designer, who, with a seemingly divine inspiration, explained the vision of the company and the “birth” of a boot. We placed our first order and are now loving our first deliveries at Julia Farr.

Here are a few photos of the styles we carry in the store.  Each one is better than the next!

 

And my personal favorite for this year — that we have in black suede — the platform boot:

VARDA has been offering timeless shoes and boots since 1981. Among one of the first shoe boutiques in downtown New York City, VARDA is an established name in the fashionable Soho neighborhood, offering an array of styles designed in-house, handcrafted in Italy.

We are flattered to be the only source in the Washington, DC, area to cary this timelessly chic collection.  And after one pair, Ann, you’ll find yourself coming back for more!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Time to give summer the boot!

  1. Ann

    OOOOHHHH, I love the platform, but I know I would wear that brown, flat riding boot all winter long, for many winters to come. So pretty, so italiano!

Leave a Reply

