The Great Jean Dilemma

Julie,

Do you remember my mad search for jeans back when we lived in NYC?  All I wanted was a nice pair of Levi’s, that were slightly worn in, with peg legs (that’s what we called them in 1989).  I couldn’t find them anywhere.  I went home for Christmas and found the Levi’s that my brothers had worn in middle school.  They fit perfect around the waist but were bell bottom.  I used my aunt’s sewing machine to narrow the leg and made the PERFECT pair of jeans.  I wore those jeans (I had two pair) until they literally fell apart.

I’ve never been able to duplicate those jeans, even though I try and try.  It should be simple, Levi’s 501, right?  I’ve found that every pair has a different cut and is made of different fabric, so they never fit the same. 

I was thrilled to learn about Levi’s Curve ID, so women could find the perfect fit.  Finally!  I went online, filled in the easy four-step questionnaire about my body type and ordered my jeans.  So easy. 

Nope.  They arrived and did not fit.  Too low in the waist.  I was too demoralized to try again.

In the meantime, I found Joe’s Jeans.  For years, while I was on my never-ending Levi’s quest, you kept telling me to try Joe’s Jeans, that they fit great and had styles for all different body types.  Last year, I finally did and I love them.

I don’t know what they do to make their jeans so yummy and soft.  They are made of 98% cotton and 2% elastane, so they do give a bit after you’ve worn them for a while.  But, they fit so well and feel so good, you could almost call them pajama jeans (but you wouldn’t!).

The Provocateur is specifically tailored for those of a limited stature (not that 5’4” is that short).

I love the cut of the Icon.  It’s boot cut, so it elongates the leg, and is also mid-rise, preventing any unfortunate underwear display when you bend over .

So, while I’m still searching for those perfect pair of Levi’s, I’m happy with Joe. 

Joe’s Jeans are available at Julia Farr.

Images:  top:  Vintagetrends.com.  Bottom three are from Joe’s Jeans.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

