What to Wear – Thanksgiving

Julie,

We will celebrate Thanksgiving in the mountains this year.  I plan to spend most of the day Thursday skiing, not cooking.  So, although I would like to look like Aerin Lauder, photographed at her Aspen home in the November issue of Vogue,

After a long day on the mountain, warmth and comfort are key for me: a pair of tailored wool trousers,

J. Crew 1035 Tab Trouser

a simple, cashmere v- neck sweater (in festive pumpkin from White + Warren),

and, most important, my Merrell snow clogs will make up my Thanksgiving outfit.

 Merrill Women’s Snow Clogs ($94.95 at Winterfootwear.com)

I’m sure you are chuckling at my choice of footwear, but after a day in ski boots, nothing feels better than slipping your battered tootsies into these sheepskin lined clogs that feel like slippers, but have the tread of snow tires (and, I wouldn’t be surprised if Ms. Lauder has a pair on underneath that fabulous long skirt).

If I’m feeling in a southwestern-y mood, I might thrown on a poncho

Ralph Lauren Blue Label Printed Poncho

What will you wear on Thursday?

Ann

Hey Ann,

I’d pretty sure I’d like to look like Aerin Lauder, too.  Do you think it would be too much if we both showed up for Thanksgiving dinner with the mink hat on?

Well, I won’t be downhill skiing on Thursday – so while you are wearing your Merrells at Turkey time, I have a great new pair of taupey-brown colored Gucci platform pumps that I will have on.  My cardio event for the day will be walking to the car balancing the pumpkin pie and the sweet potato casserole on my way to my brother and sister-in-law’s home for dinner.

No matter how “at home” Thanksgiving dinner can be, I’ll still have a deep need (founded on decades of having to dress for occasions) to dress for the gathering.  Toning it down is hard for me.  But since it is a small gathering this year, I’m going to try a little bit of a low key approach.  I found a great mocha sequined cardigan from Alice + Olivia (the Trudy cardigan) that I will wear

with my Halston Winter White pants

(available at Julia Farr for $345)

and Gucci pumps. I couldn’t find the ones I bought, but I really like these shown here, and think they would great with my ensemble, too.

Gucci sunset horsebit platform peeptoe pump in winter leaf, $650 at Saks

And then I might throw on that Lafayette leather trim pumpkin and brown cape I’ve been raving about.  I’ll be thinking of you as you swoosh down the slopes.

You think of  me as I tune into the Macy’s Day Parade with a pumpkin spiced-latte!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “What to Wear – Thanksgiving

  1. Mary Pat

    The Merrell snow clogs make my feet so happy, I have 2 pairs. I know they don’t get a lot of style points, but they’re a 10 for comfort and warmth!

    • Ann

      Mary Pat, I actually think the snow clogs look pretty cute with a pair of wide leg pants or jeans, although they can look a bit goofy with straight leg pants, or maybe it’s just because my feet are so big!

Leave a Reply

