Ensconced in Velvet

“I would drape myself in velvet, if it was socially acceptable.” George Costanza – Seinfeld

Julie, I agree with George.  There is nothing more luxurious than velvet.  Fortunately for us, velvet is in, especially for the holidays. 

You can sample the trend by wearing it as an accessory, like Ralph Lauren’s divine Velvet Suede Peeptoe heels

or with a sweet, simple velvet purse, like this one from TopShop

Add a bit more, like this simple sheath from Banana Republic

Or, this very modern chevron stripe dress from Marc by Marc Jacobs, available at Neiman Marcus 

I, for one, am more like George.  I would like to be ensconced in velvet.

Drape me in this warm espresso velvet maxi dress, from T by Alexander Wang (available at ShopBop)

Even better, this elegant long dress from that other Seinfeld regular, J. Peterman

George would be jealous.

Ann

Images: Ralph Lauren, TopShop, Banana Republic, Neiman Marcus, ShopBop, J. Peterman

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Ensconced in Velvet

  1. Amy Hart

    Hey Ann and Julie,
    I’ve been looking for a navy or black velvet men’s sportscoat for a while now. I love how they look on a man during the holidays. However, when I went into Pinstripes on The Plaza, ready to buy, they scoffed at my “so five years ago” desire. He said his store would not be carrying them but I’d probably find them someplace like Dillards, Macy’s, etc. I personally don’t think insulting your customer is a wise business decision but they did make me question my “taste”. I’d love your opinions on this one!

Leave a Reply

