What to Wear to a Book Signing Party

Author Ali Wentworth speaking to crowd of neutrally-clad Washingtonians

Ann,

I know what you’re thinking.  “What to wear to a book signing party” doesn’t really rank up there in wardrobe conundrums as does, perhaps, “[W]hat to wear to an interview” or “[W]hat to wear to a Bar Mitzvah.”  Indeed. However, after receiving a fabulous invitation to the DC Book Launch of Ali Wentworth’s new book, Ali in Wonderland, hosted by the Four Seasons, Elle Magazine and her sister and brilliant jewelry designer, Sissy Yates, I found myself asking — “but what will I wear?”  On an unseasonably chilly March Monday evening in Washington, DC, I spent considerable time in front of my closet reviewing the options.  Because of the Elle connection, I believed that looking fashionably current would be important.  But, of course, we are still in Washington, DC, and it is still Monday night.  I decided to rely on the old column of black with something on top that is not black.  Revolutionary, I know.  It seemed that others that evening clung to the black standby, as well. Other notable trends included long beaded chain necklaces (many by designer Sissy Yates), silk blouses with something black on bottom, and embellishments in  leather and fur — here, there and everywhere.  Here’s the evening as told by the photos.

Ali wore a berry red dress with front ruching from RM by Roland Mouret.  In a room of black, white and grey, the comedienne/actress/writer got it just right!

A little like the American flag, a study in Red, White and Blue (Ali Wentworth, Julia Farr (me), and Sissy Yates)

Except for one woman wearing a red jacket — and the chic Wentworth sisters (above), a splash of COLOR was a rare sighting in the crowded sea of my beloved neutrals.

Owners of the cool Georgetown, Bethesda and Baltimore boutique, Sassanova, Sassy Jacobs and Sarah Cannova

 Washington Women Blair Bourne, Katie Gewirz and Reg Stettinius

Capitol File Editorial Assistant, Kara Manos, in gorgeous green (a departure from the color black)

Washington Post Style Reporter, Katherine Boyle, cool in a silk printed top and leather jacket

Sassanova owner, Sassy Jacobs, and Author Page Evans embracing the long chain necklace

Julia Farr (me, again) and Jennifer Tapper in her Spring-Forward blues and greens

Ok, enough of me. Shown here wearing an ADAM by Adam Lippes winter white coat with fabulous fur sleeves and my boutique Chief of Staff, Janie Haynes, wearing the elegant Katoucha top by Raoul.  Available at Julia Farr.

The only other fashion observation that hit me like a ton of bricks during the evening was the spectacularly similar choice of shoes by Elle Editor-in-Chief, Robbie Myers, and Ali Wentworth:

Now knowing exactly what is missing in my shoe collection, I’ll report back when I’ve secured these for my own.  You never know what you might learn at a book signing party.

–Julie

(Images by Guestofaguest and Julia Farr)

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “What to Wear to a Book Signing Party

  1. Pingback: Spring 2012 Shoes: Bring it on | You Look Pretty

Leave a Reply

