Spring 2012 Shoes: Bring it on!

Ann,

The strappy black Prada shoes worn by Ali Wentworth – or was it Elle’s Editor-in-Chief, Robbie Myers?? – at last week’s DC book launch of Ali in Wonderland got me thinking about Spring shoes.

Prada Patent Caged Sandals. $850.

Each season I like to canvas the shoe scene, and then make the big investment in that pair of shoes that will take me everywhere – go with everything – and make my day-to-day neutral wardrobe come alive.  So when I suggested to you that I would post something about “THE SHOE” for Spring ’12, or at least, MY SHOE for Spring ’12, I had no idea what I was taking on.   After 3 days of reviewing Spring ’12 shoe trends and the umpteen blogs on Spring shoes, I am left with wanting a lot and deciding on nothing. And I think I know why this is: there are too many choices. It’s like my nemesis, Sunday brunch – too many options for one meal.  Same goes for Spring ’12 shoes: too many options for one pair of feet.

Here’s the trend overview in words and then a few photos:  HOT now are metallic toes, pointed toes, braided sandals, super mega platforms, transparent shoes, shining shoes, lacing, wedges and espadrilles, pastels, brights, nudes, python print, color blocking pumps, and Spring booties called “shooties.”

Three trends in one: The translucent, pointed metallic toe Spring bootie by Richard Nicoll

 Another look at the Spring boot by Jil Sander

Fabulous metallics with chunky heel

The Burberry braided wedge

The espadrille by Chloe

Buckles Galore by Antonio Benardi: An excellent way to ruin a manicure!

The Color Wedge Cork Python Print Sandal: Trend-Packed and Pretty!

Metal tips are it!

A lovely look at color blocking

and one last look at a very best trend for Spring:

 The Espadrille Wedge: the perfect finish to Spring dresses and cropped pants

And there you have it!  Buckles, braids, ties, wedges, patterns, pythons, colors, and shiny finishes are the way to go.  Amidst the sea of choices, I think I’ll start with these, Ann, just to play it safe…

 

The Elizabeth and James Kimi flat. $198.

 Can you blame me?

–Julie

Leave a comment

Filed under Shoes, Spring 2012

Leave a Reply

