Back in Black

Julie,

I returned to my home sweet home late Saturday night, after two weeks of travel from coast to coast.  Most of it was for work, some for fun, all of it was good, but I was still pooped.  When Sunday dawned, all I wanted to do was laze about my house.  It was too hot for the pool, and the humidity even kept me off my porch.  So, I snuggled up in my bed and watched an old movie.  Sabrina was on – the one with Julia Ormond, Harrison Ford and Greg Kinnear.  I was struck by the scene when Ormond’s Sabrina returns home from studying in Paris.  She cuts such a stylish figure, she is unrecognizable by Kinnear’s man-about-town character, David.

She wears an unadorned jacket, pants, hat and sunglasses, but she looks oh-so-chic!  Why?  It’s all black.

What is it about black that takes the most simple silhouettes and makes them elegant?  And, timeless (the movie was filmed in 1995 and this outfit would fit in anywhere today).

Chanel’s sneak peek at Fall shows us that the design house is focused on black:

In fact, as you can see in the photo above, it’s black on black on black.

It really is just the thing to wear while running through the Hall of Mirrors at Versailles.

Although it is 1,000 degrees here right now, making it difficult to think of any clothes that don’t reflect the sun and allow every bit of breeze to penetrate, I think I’ll have to wear my black sandals to the pool tomorrow.

Ann

Images: Top, Paramount Pictures. Bottom two, Dior.

Leave a comment

Filed under Color

Leave a Reply

