What To Wear – The London Olympics

Julie,

I loved your tips on what to pack for those two fabulous vacations, but I wish I could be a stowaway!  It’s my dream to go on safari in Africa, but I don’t think I want to hunt the animals, just look at them.

And, of course, I always like to visit France, it would be so cool to see the country from the river.

Lately, I’ve been thinking of travel to anther place abroad – London.

With the excitement building for the Olympics, I am sad that I won’t be there to enjoy the games in person.  If I was, I would definitely wear something from Ralph Lauren’s Olympic line of clothing.

I know that poor old Ralph has taken a beating about manufacturing official U.S. Olympic gear in China.     Although I do wish it was made in the good ol’ U S of A, the U.S. Olympic committee only started using an American designer for the past two Olympics.  Previously, the Canadian clothing company, Roots, made all the U.S. gear.  The good news:  Ralph Lauren has pledged that the 2014 uniforms will be made in the U.S.A. (click on the link to read the article).

What to Wear to this Olympics?  Since they are predicting that this will be the coldest and wettest summer Olympics ever, I guess I should start with a warm jacket, to keep me cosy and dry while I am standing on the banks of the Thames watching the rowers fly by.

I love the white silk skirt that the female athletes will wear during the opening ceremonies.

It’s so versatile: you could wear it in a huge arena with millions of people looking at you, or at a small garden party in your neighborhood.

My favorite thing from the collection is the “create your own” designs.  Although I feel like these pieces are more appropriate for children, I think it would be pretty cool to personalize one of the USA emblazoned polo shirts or jackets with your name.

Someone might actually think you’re on the relay team with Ryan Lochte!

I’ll probably settle for something a little bit more low-key, and well suited to our hot summer, like this tank top.

Opening Ceremonies are July 27!  USA!

Ann

Images top to bottom: National Geographic, englishexercises.org, bottom four photos are from Ralph Lauren

Leave a comment

Filed under What to Wear

Leave a Reply

