Fall Shoe Obsessions…For Now

Julie,

I know you were immersed in Spring 2013 trends at market last week, but the dwindling days of summer are making me think of Fall fashions.  It’s too hot to contemplate sweaters or wool skirts, so I have to settle with obsessing over fall shoes.

My pie-in-the-sky, I’ll-never-be-able-to-afford-it (at $1,095) shoe is the Ingenue Pump, from Yves Saint Laurent

I love the dramatic contrast of the mirrored brass toe cap with the soft, suede.  You can detach the ankle strap, and wear the shoe as a simple slingback.

That makes the shoe a two-for-one deal, so maybe it is affordable (a girl can dream, right?).

Kors by Michael Kors makes an ankle strap heel that is a bit more in my price range ($250).

It’s a big contrast to the delicate lines of the YSL shoe, but I love the platform that balances out the 4 1/2 inch heel.

For some reason, I’ve been feeling somewhat sentimental lately (maybe it’s because our youngest starts high school this week), and have been thinking about classic styles from the past, like the Ferragamo flat.

Don’t you remember when your mom wore her Ferragamos, back in the early 80s? I like the updated Taissa Flat, shown here, available at Saks. I think the goldtone buckle is more modern than the classic Ferragamo bow shape on the vamp.

But, the impeccable craftsmanship makes it an obvious Salvatore Ferragamo.

I know it’s all black shoes here, but I’ll have more colorful shoes to talk about as the season progresses!

Ann

Images: top two from Yves Saint Laurent, Michael Kors and Saks Fifth Avenue.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fall 2012, Shoes

Leave a Reply

