Happy New Year!

Julie,

Best wishes to you and to all of our You Look Pretty readers for a very happy New Year!

I thought I’d kick off 2013 by talking about one of my favorite topics: color. Namely, emerald green, Pantone’s official color of 2013.

ylpemerald

I have to say, I’m so much more on board with green than I was with last year’s color, Tangerine Tango. I know the orange was supposed to be energizing, but I found it far too complicated to work with.

ylptangerine

I much prefer to think about this as I move into a new year:

ylpemeraldgems

Pantone’s reasons for choosing emerald are so specific and engaging. They call it a lively, radiant lush color, one of elegance and beauty that enhances our sense of well being, balance and harmony. With the recent tragedy in Connecticut,  catastrophic weather events across the country and looming fiscal crises, I think we are all in need of a little security and stability. I’m not sure that wearing a particular color can provide that, but I’m willing to try.

I have always loved the color emerald green. It reminds me of rolling fields Ireland, leaves on the giant oak tree next door to my house and the sweeping meadows of Colorado. Of course, it also brings to mind spring, and re-growth and renewal, prefect themes to consider as we move into a new year.   And money.

So, as you enter 2013, consider a little emerald green in your wardrobe. I think we will see it everywhere next fall!

Happy 2013!

Ann

All Images: Pantone

Leave a comment

Filed under Spring 2013

Leave a Reply

