The World is Flat

Julie,

I know how much you love your high heels. At 5’9″, you don’t need them to see over the crowd at concerts and parties as much as I do, and yet, my 5’4″ self still prefers flats.

ylpchanelflats

I think it’s because my hyper personality lends itself to running, rather than walking serenely, as you do, from place to place. Even if it’s just to go from my office to the kitchen for a glass of water. And, you should see how fast I can move through an airport terminal.

As the old saying goes, what goes up, must come down. After years of escalating heel heights (10 inch platforms – Lady Gaga I’m looking at you), flats and kitten heels are seeing a resurgence. This month, Vogue highlights flats in a three-page spread featuring pointy toed, silver shoes from Manolo Blahnik:

ylpflats1

…kitten heels from Louis Vuitton…

ylpflats3

and strappy flats from that old dance stalwart, Capezio…

ylpflats

Imagine how quickly you could get in and out of Starbucks in the morning.

Don’t get me wrong. I still love to put on a pair of 4+ inch heels for a party. It’s like a whole new world for me up there in the land of tall people, where the air is thinner and you can actually look people in the eye.

Ann

Images: top, Ebay, bottom three, Vogue.

2 Comments

Filed under Spring 2013

2 responses to “The World is Flat

  1. ??????

    5′ 4″ ????

Leave a Reply

