Songs of Summer 2013

Julie,

It took me nearly the entire summer to come up with the top three songs of the season, but nothing really caught my attention, until now – just in time to jam to during your summer vacation!

With consultation from my much hipper daughter, we’ve determined the top three songs of the summer:

Daft Punk – “Get Lucky” (it took a while to grow on me, but now I wander around all day singing to myself: “She’s up all night ’til the sun, I’m all up night to get some, she’s up all night to have fun, I’m up all night to get lucky.” I get weird looks when I do this while wandering up and down the grocery aisle.)

Video Fashion note: not sure about the Daft Punk robot helmets, but Pharrell looks sharp in his sequined jacket.

Icona Pop – “I Don’t Care” (just try not to sing along, bouncing up and down with the beat – “I LOVE IT!”)

Video Fashion note: Totally cool Swedish chicks rocking out in clubs wearing all black.

Robin Thicke – “Blurred Lines” (I can’t discern the lyrics, but it doesn’t matter, because with his velvet voice, it doesn’t matter what the words are. Brilliant and sexy.)

Video Fashion note: Beautiful, red-lipsticked models dance around (at one point with a goat?), reminiscent of Robert Palmer’s 80s video for “Addicted to Love.” Robin adds a millennial twist by flashing #Thicke across the video. I’ve shown the PG-13 version here (after all, this is a family blog). The unrated version has the models dancing around topless, but with disturbing flesh-toned g-strings, which kind of makes them look like a Barbie doll. Doesn’t matter, this song is hot.

Enjoy dancing into the sunset of summer!

Ann

1 Comment

Filed under Friendship

One response to “Songs of Summer 2013

  1. Mary beth

    All great songs to excercise to! Love th choices Ladies!

Leave a Reply

